Feature = button option to clear filter box

Discussion & Support for xplorer² professional

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

Post Reply
mragtronx8
Member
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: 2021 Feb 20, 12:30

Feature = button option to clear filter box

Post by mragtronx8 »

can this option be added
Feature = ESCAPE button or any other button option to clear filter box
mjbrookes
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007 Sep 19, 11:24

Re: Feature = button option to clear filter box

Post by mjbrookes »

try
click into filter box
press F2


I have seen this recommended in the forum.

good luck
mragtronx8
Member
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: 2021 Feb 20, 12:30

Re: Feature = button option to clear filter box

Post by mragtronx8 »

thx, i know about the F2.
Am suggesting to use a keyboard button to clear filter box; same as the ESC button option in xyplorer
User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15522
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Feature = button option to clear filter box

Post by nikos »

if F2 clears the filter box why do you need another key for the job?
ESC jumps back to the folder pane
mjbrookes
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007 Sep 19, 11:24

Re: Feature = button option to clear filter box

Post by mjbrookes »

Hi Nikos

I think
Esc to clear filter box
and
TAB to switch to next pane

seems more 'intuitive'

but :shrug:
mragtronx8
Member
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: 2021 Feb 20, 12:30

Re: Feature = button option to clear filter box

Post by mragtronx8 »

mjbrookes wrote: 2022 Nov 27, 11:43 Hi Nikos

I think
Esc to clear filter box
and
TAB to switch to next pane

seems more 'intuitive'

but :shrug:
i agree. reconsider this as an option Nikos.
Esc to clear filter box, and remain in pane to continue or do another search.
User avatar
johngalt
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 513
Joined: 2008 Feb 10, 19:41
Location: 3rd Rock
Contact:

Re: Feature = button option to clear filter box

Post by johngalt »

I have to agree, ESC to clear search contents is more intuitive.
Image

Image
User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15522
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Feature = button option to clear filter box

Post by nikos »

feedback of this sort is best during beta testing or early after a release. This feature and keyboard associations are well, what 10 years old?
Well-established to risk annoying existing users
mjbrookes
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2007 Sep 19, 11:24

Re: Feature = button option to clear filter box

Post by mjbrookes »

fair point.

But if you ignore more 'recent' feedback you may miss the opportunity to make genuine iprovements.

Idea: could you make it so that
1. if people press F2 in the filter box
2. then up pops a message ... "Shortcut key change.... From version 5.2.x.xx, F2 no longer clears the filter box, instead press ESC....( also you can use TAB to exit the filter box and return to main pane)" and add "to stop this message in future tick this checkbox".
3. after a couple of versions you could retire the F2-message appearing at all





Example: Filter box improvement Idea:
I would still like to be able to click into the filter box and then a dropdown of the last 10 searches appears, it would significantly ease my work if I did not have to release the mouse and type repeated search terms.



:biggrin:
User avatar
johngalt
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 513
Joined: 2008 Feb 10, 19:41
Location: 3rd Rock
Contact:

Re: Feature = button option to clear filter box

Post by johngalt »

nikos wrote: 2022 Nov 28, 18:10 feedback of this sort is best during beta testing or early after a release. This feature and keyboard associations are well, what 10 years old?
Well-established to risk annoying existing users
So make it an option - allow the user to pick whether they want to keep F2 or use ESC to clear the search box, which can be changed using the advanced options method only, so it is not accidentally done.

I mean, it's not like we're asking you to recode the entire codebase in a new programming language. And if these fine folks had not mentioned the issue in the first place, I would not have thought to support the idea because I am used to doing it counter-intuitively for so long. But If you don't want to change it, I'm already used to doing it counter-intuitively, so not a big deal. I think ESC is a better, more accepted method for clearing the contents of a text field. If you don't, fair enough.
Image

Image
Post Reply