File type is missing - 2x Explorer

Q & A for the old 2X Explorer file manager. For other topics, please use the corresponding forum.

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

Nicholas440

Post by Nicholas440 »

Hello,

I downloaded 2x Explorer but I have a question since I am new to using 2xexplorer.   I like the layout of it,  but I need to be able to see a column  that shows the file type   ie,  .exe, .wav, .txt, .jpg, and so on. Is there a way I can get 2x Explorer to display the file type?    I choose viewing my folders with Details so I can see the name, size, date, etc,  but I cant see the file  TYPE .  Can someone help me with this or doesnt 2x Explorer support display file types..?

Thankyou,   Nick
BRX
Silver Member
Silver Member

Post by BRX »

Hi,

that's one column Nikos left out intentionally (and rightfully so). You have to change the properties in the Windows-Explorers which hides "known" extensions. If this is switched off you can see the type perfectly in the filename and don't need the extra column.

BRX
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by nikos »

thanks BRX

complementing what you've said, specific instructions on how to enable the extensions of filenames on one's desktop are contained in FAQ# 13

xplorer² will have the options to show both the traditional file type column and a separate extension column for those who need these details
Nicholas440

Post by Nicholas440 »