virtualize system root

Q & A for the old 2X Explorer file manager. For other topics, please use the corresponding forum.

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

SuicidalLabRat

virtualize system root

Post by SuicidalLabRat »

As a Unix system administrator I have little experience with the win32 API; though I started my career as a Unix engineer I have not touched win development since 3.1 faded into the ether. I have been asked, however, to help replicate a development environment I built under Solaris, but on a cluster of w2k nodes, for the development of a new project; but I don’t have a good sense of the breadth of the win32 shells power -alas, I have found little documentation to outline its scope for me. I am appealing to you out of an affinity I have with your 2xExplorer, as it runs on both my home windows systems as well as my laptop and I had hoped to use it in this application. I have mounted a loopback file system under v:\ , its object structure is a mirror of the C:\* file system root ( Documents and Settings, Program Files, WINNT etc…). To emulate the Unix environment I recently built I would need to launch a virtual desktop under your shell with command line ( or otherwise ) arguments to redefine the 2xExplorers root namespace ( a’ la explorer.exe /e,/root,"V:\”, optionally[possibly?] set appropriate system variables in the hive and broadcast them ) so that a browser ( say firebird ) run from your shell would not know of any structure outside of v:\ ? For example, I initiate the download of an MP3, the known file system space presented as available to download this file to would be restricted to the objects under V:\, further, if an application living under this V:\* file system was run from your shell, can I jail it to that V:\ structure ( not concerned with COM or IPC calls -it doesn’t need to be a true chroot() ), assuming replication of system files exists under this V: object in a common hierarchy ( including the registry files!? )? Did that ma