Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Questions & Answers

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

Post Reply
TsunamiZ
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 596
Joined: 2005 Nov 06, 04:44

Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by TsunamiZ » 2013 Jul 14, 09:10

Can we get a hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Example, I normally use font size 14. But sometimes I would switch to font size 8, to see more text on screen. It would be convenient to have a hotkey to quickly toggle between the two.

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14648
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by nikos » 2013 Jul 14, 09:50

use the "fixed" and "proportional" font buttons

TsunamiZ
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 596
Joined: 2005 Nov 06, 04:44

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by TsunamiZ » 2013 Jul 14, 11:44

but problem is, i already use that feature for its intended purpose. it would be useful to have toggle font sizes as an additional feature.

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14648
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by nikos » 2013 Jul 15, 07:02

sorry there's nothing else available

Kilmatead
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Posts: 4569
Joined: 2008 Sep 30, 06:52
Location: Dublin

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by Kilmatead » 2013 Jul 15, 13:05

Isn't this why people hold <Ctrl> while using the scrollwheel? Not as precise as presets, true, but it's quicker than anything else. :shrug:

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14648
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by nikos » 2013 Jul 15, 14:03

cool! I knew this worked in internet browsers but i didn't imagine the trusty richedit control would offer it too!

Kilmatead
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Posts: 4569
Joined: 2008 Sep 30, 06:52
Location: Dublin

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by Kilmatead » 2013 Jul 15, 14:23

One of the benefits of having bad eyesight is that you learn to find these tricks wherever you can. Just wait until you too go to wrack-and-ruin disgracefully. :D

TsunamiZ
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 596
Joined: 2005 Nov 06, 04:44

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by TsunamiZ » 2013 Jul 15, 14:26

that's cool, but unfortunately it's still slower than having a quick toggle button for 2 frequent sizes.

RightPaddock
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 428
Joined: 2011 Jan 23, 18:58
Location: Sydney AU

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by RightPaddock » 2013 Jul 15, 23:56

Kilmatead wrote:Isn't this why people hold <Ctrl> while using the scrollwheel? Not as precise as presets, true, but it's quicker than anything else. :shrug:
or ctrl/+ and -

RP
Windows 10 Pro (64 bit) version 1809 - Xplorer2 version: Pro 2.5.0.4 [Unicode] x64 2014-06-21

Kilmatead
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Posts: 4569
Joined: 2008 Sep 30, 06:52
Location: Dublin

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by Kilmatead » 2013 Jul 16, 06:35

Interestingly, <Ctr> '+'/'-' does not work for me in ed2 (x64), though those accelerators work just fine for other programmes (NP++, Firefox, PDF, blah blah blah).

Whereas the scrollwheel method works fine in ed2.

Perhaps Nikos' RichEdit control isn't as wealthy as it should be (a common problem with finances). :shrug:

User avatar
fgagnon
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3737
Joined: 2003 Sep 08, 19:56
Location: Springfield

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by fgagnon » 2013 Jul 16, 19:52

Curiously, Neither <Ctrl> '+'/'-' nor <Ctrl>+<scrollwheel> work for me in ed2 (x64), though those accelerators work just fine for other programs (NP++, Chrome, PDF, blah blah blah).

TsunamiZ
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 596
Joined: 2005 Nov 06, 04:44

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by TsunamiZ » 2013 Jul 16, 20:06

ctrl +/- doesn't work. RightPaddock offered advice from web browsers without testing it.

RightPaddock
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 428
Joined: 2011 Jan 23, 18:58
Location: Sydney AU

Re: Hotkey to toggle between 2 custom font sizes?

Post by RightPaddock » 2013 Jul 17, 23:30

TsunamiZ wrote:ctrl +/- doesn't work. RightPaddock offered advice from web browsers without testing it.
Works for me in Firefox and Chrome, I use them frequently - see attachment. And apparently it works for nikos
nikos wrote:cool! I knew this worked in internet browsers but i didn't imagine the trusty richedit control would offer it too!
Why not use another text editor , there's nothing special about the X2editor - apart from the fact that it lacks the ability to adjust the font size <sigh>

sorry about the width, I would have thought a fancy new board would show a thumb

rp
Windows 10 Pro (64 bit) version 1809 - Xplorer2 version: Pro 2.5.0.4 [Unicode] x64 2014-06-21

Post Reply