Option for "Keep Tabs" or "Insert Spaces" - new feature request

Questions & Answers

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

Post Reply
kevinlsw
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2002 Aug 28, 09:01

Post by kevinlsw » 2002 Sep 12, 01:42

Hi Nikos,

I noticed that we have the ability to specify how many spaces per <TAB>.  

But can we go one step further by exposing the "Insert spaces" and "Keep tabs" functionality similar to Visual Studio?  So that a certain of space characters are inserted instead of a <TAB> character when you hit TAB.

A "Untabify selection" would be nice too :)

Thanks,
Kevin

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14670
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by nikos » 2002 Sep 17, 17:38

that's not bad for an option for a future version
but don't expect ed2 to rival developer studio anytime soon  :)

for untabify selection you can do a replace from tabs to any number of spaces you want. I know it's a bit of a drag specifying special characters like tabs (you can select a tab before you press Ctrl+R) but that's another area I'm looking into

Post Reply