Drag-and-drop to open folder

Discussion & Support for xplorer² professional

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

Post Reply
rulle
Member
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: 2003 Nov 06, 07:41

Drag-and-drop to open folder

Post by rulle » 2003 Dec 12, 13:59

It is sometimes difficult to drag-and-drop between panes if an open folder contains only archives (and a lot of them). The default action is to add to the selected archive, and I haven't found any keys that will disable autoselection of archives (and put the files next to the archives instead of inside them).

Would it be possible to enable drag-and-drop to the pane header instead?(don't know proper term, but I mean where file path is displayed)

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14725
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by nikos » 2003 Dec 12, 14:04

this isn't as easy as it sounds
but if you have a little space past the last column (ie resize it to reveal a small gutter on the right), it is going to do what you want

User avatar
fgagnon
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3737
Joined: 2003 Sep 08, 19:56
Location: Springfield

Post by fgagnon » 2003 Dec 12, 21:08

... and there's always the mouseless way to copy selected files to the opposite pane (as mentioned in alpha.txt):
using the "F5, Enter" sequence, or [Ctrl+F5] to copy with no confirmation dialog box. :)
{Substitute "F6" to move the selected file(s) to the opposite pane}

rulle
Member
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: 2003 Nov 06, 07:41

Post by rulle » 2003 Dec 12, 21:40

Very nice, thank you! F6 - gotta remember that.

User avatar
mimeryme
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 107
Joined: 2003 Apr 29, 18:38
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Post by mimeryme » 2003 Dec 13, 04:25

I miss 2x's pathbar, as I'm still going back and forth trying to find that bit of space; being stubborn with full row select and detailed view and all. The thing about drag-n-drop is that you can do more than just copy/move if it is an archive.

Anyway, what I wanted to point it out was that items can be dragged on to a scrollbar if it is present. Another way to manage, in case no space is available.

rulle
Member
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: 2003 Nov 06, 07:41

Post by rulle » 2003 Dec 13, 08:12

That actually does the trick too. Thanks!

Post Reply