SSD Shredding Message

Discussion & Support for xplorer² professional

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

IHipschman

SSD Shredding Message

Post by IHipschman »

I just got a new computer and have transferred Xplorer2 4.4.0.1 x64 to it. When I shred a file I get a warning message saying:

Shredding files on SSD media doesn't make sense; it is ineffective and reduces the write life of your drive - continue shredding anyway?

The problem is that the new PC doesn't have an SSD, just 2 hard drives. Is this message telling me there is a wrong setting in my UEFI BIOS? My old computer never got this message, but it wasn't UEFI.

Thanks,
Ivan
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: SSD Shredding Message

Post by nikos »

xplorer2 is asking the drive's StorageDeviceTrimProperty to check if it is SSD or not. If you are a programmer, here's the relevant code sample:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/233 ... 2#33359142
IHipschman

Post by IHipschman »

I am not a programmer in the environment you are talking about (I used to program mainframes in COBOL). So I am just letting you know that the SSD check is not working on my PC. My system has two Western Digital Blue hard drives, model WDBH200020HNC-NRSN if that is a help.

For my own information I would ask if you think there is any incorrect setting on my PC that could be fooling your drive type check? It's not a major issue but I do like to have things working correctly.

Thanks,
Ivan
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by nikos »

to be honest, I am not a hardware expert, so I will take note of your problem and see if anyone else has the same
IHipschman

Post by IHipschman »

Thanks. I'll follow up on my end to see if I can find an issue which would fool your SSD check. If I find anything I will let you know.
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by nikos »

all the pure hard discs I tried don't give any false alarms, but that of course doesn't prove that my code is 100% proof
IHipschman

Post by IHipschman »

Nikos,