vista anyone?

Discussion & Support for xplorer² professional

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14977
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

vista anyone?

Post by nikos » 2021 Mar 13, 17:24

is anyone still using windows vista? I want to run some tests and I don't have a vista VM
thanks

User avatar
johngalt
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 411
Joined: 2008 Feb 10, 19:41
Location: 3rd Rock
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by johngalt » 2021 Mar 13, 17:28

Not here - *but* I can throw it up onto a VM, if I can find a copy to install.
Image

Image

User avatar
johngalt
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 411
Joined: 2008 Feb 10, 19:41
Location: 3rd Rock
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by johngalt » 2021 Mar 13, 17:30

hxxps://archive.org/details/win-vista-ultimate-x64

The archive is a glorious thing. DLing now lol.
Image

Image

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14977
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by nikos » 2021 Mar 13, 17:32

ok, thanks for going into the trouble!
then try installing the latest xplorer2 version on it and see if it can read its own digital signature? (program property page)

User avatar
johngalt
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 411
Joined: 2008 Feb 10, 19:41
Location: 3rd Rock
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by johngalt » 2021 Mar 13, 17:34

OK. DL speeds around 7-8 MB/s so it will be a few minutes before it is complete, and then I may have to tinker with the VM - I think I've got it set up correctly, but I'll know more in about 30 minutes or so.
Image

Image

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14977
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by nikos » 2021 Mar 13, 17:39

thank you, express service! :)

User avatar
johngalt
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 411
Joined: 2008 Feb 10, 19:41
Location: 3rd Rock
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by johngalt » 2021 Mar 13, 18:01

The first .ISO I downloaded refuses to boot in the VM to install. I'm trying another I found on archive.org that has SP1 integrated. It's odd, it gives me the weirdest error, "Boot failure. Reboot and seelct proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device - but I've changed the boot device from CD to IDE and the DVD still refuses to load (Yes, I see the discrepancy, in that it says CD as boot device but the attached device is actually a CD/DVD ROM drive lol....)

Like I said - the VM itself probably needs tweaking. Working on it.
Image

Image

User avatar
johngalt
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 411
Joined: 2008 Feb 10, 19:41
Location: 3rd Rock
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by johngalt » 2021 Mar 13, 18:10

New ISO working - installing now.
Image

Image

User avatar
johngalt
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 411
Joined: 2008 Feb 10, 19:41
Location: 3rd Rock
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by johngalt » 2021 Mar 13, 18:39

Bwahahahahahahahahahahahahah! Vista is so old, that the default IE browser refuses to open zabkat. Thought you'd find that funny.
Image

Image

User avatar
johngalt
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 411
Joined: 2008 Feb 10, 19:41
Location: 3rd Rock
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by johngalt » 2021 Mar 13, 18:49

Email with a pic sent.
Image

Image

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14977
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by nikos » 2021 Mar 13, 18:57

thanks mate, so it's still worth keeping the double-signing

User avatar
johngalt
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 411
Joined: 2008 Feb 10, 19:41
Location: 3rd Rock
Contact:

Re: vista anyone?

Post by johngalt » 2021 Mar 13, 19:02

Cheers!
Image

Image

Post Reply