Editor2 treating documents as read-only

Discussion & Support for xplorer² professional

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

Post Reply
profess
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 2003 Oct 06, 11:39

Editor2 treating documents as read-only

Post by profess » 2004 Dec 20, 16:46

Hi all,

I have been using the software since 2xexplorer days and only recently there seems to be a bug with 'MY' version of Editor2 from within xplorer2.

From within xplorer2:

When pressing F3 files are viewed fine with Editor2
When pressing F4 the file is displayed, however, I am unable to edit the file.  

The file appears in 'editable' mode.  I know about pressing F6 also, which then switches xplorer2 into read-only mode again, so it's not that.

The ONLY way I have been able to edit a file within xplorer2 is by highlighting some text and typing over it.  Sometimes this lets me edit the rest of the document, other times it lets me type a few characters, then stops functioning.

Loading Editor2 (from within the Zabkat\xplorer2 folder) is fine, using file/open etc etc works fine also.  

Editor2 is not registered as my default text application (it's work's computer - they will get confused if I change things too much).

External viewer / editor boxes within xplorer2's Tools / Options menu are empty also.

Any advice anyone?

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14482
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by nikos » 2004 Dec 20, 17:55

so you are saying that the same editor2 executable won't allow you to edit if launched via F4 but then if you open a file through the editor directly it will allow you to edit normally?

such strange behaviour can only be explained if you have a very old richedit control on your system. Please check FAQ #24 from the old website

profess
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 2003 Oct 06, 11:39

Win98

Post by profess » 2004 Dec 20, 21:42

The computer at work is Win98, not sure which version.

I will check it out tomorrow.

Thanks.

profess
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 2003 Oct 06, 11:39

Riched20.dll was the issue, problem solved

Post by profess » 2004 Dec 21, 09:53

Hi Nikos,

Thanks for the solution, it was exactly what you said.

Post Reply