How open new tab using mouse click (middle button)?

Discussion & Support for xplorer² professional

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

Post Reply
danielrod
Member
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: 2003 Apr 03, 13:32

How open new tab using mouse click (middle button)?

Post by danielrod » 2009 Mar 05, 03:21

In a previous version of xplorer2 pro, I was able to open new tabs by just hitting the middle button on my mouse.  After upgrading to latest version (1.7.2.2), this functionality is gone.

I realize I can use a keyboard shortcut to open a new tab, but let me tell you that i was spoiled by the speed and comfort of just middle-clicking that bad boy into existence.

Any ideas on how to regain this capability?

Thanks in advance!

Daniel

User avatar
fgagnon
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3737
Joined: 2003 Sep 08, 19:56
Location: Springfield

Post by fgagnon » 2009 Mar 05, 03:48

M-click (or d-click) in vacant area of tab bar still opens a new tab for me with x2 v1.7.2.2 and 1.7.2.3 on Vista and XP.

... that is except for when the current active folder is empty -- a case that never worked before either, even with the Ctrl+Insert key combo.  :shock:

danielrod
Member
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: 2003 Apr 03, 13:32

Post by danielrod » 2009 Mar 05, 03:58

Thanks for the tip on m-clicking the tab bar.  didn't know this.

However, i used to be able to click in the pane itself (in the white are where no files are listed) to open the new tab.

Maybe that so-called feature was actually a bug, but it was a good one!  

Any chance of getting it back? :)  (clicking the tab bar requires a bit more aiming and of course, after around the 4th tab, you run out of vacant space to click)

Thanks for the quick reply!

Daniel

desslok
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 167
Joined: 2008 Jan 16, 22:10

Post by desslok » 2009 Mar 05, 04:04

What about trying mouse utilities?

danielrod
Member
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: 2003 Apr 03, 13:32

Post by danielrod » 2009 Mar 05, 04:29

You mean Control Panel mouse settings?  

I played around w/some of the middle-mouse options, but nothing helped.

thanks,

daniel

User avatar
fgagnon
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3737
Joined: 2003 Sep 08, 19:56
Location: Springfield

Post by fgagnon » 2009 Mar 05, 04:49

@ used to be able to click in the pane itself ... -
I forgot about that. It was a while ago.  If I recall correctly that feature was designed out because of a conflict with something else, but I forget the details. Maybe something to do with Vista. You can probably find some discussion if you search the board. :shrug:

desslok
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 167
Joined: 2008 Jan 16, 22:10

Post by desslok » 2009 Mar 05, 05:34

danielrod wrote:You mean Control Panel mouse settings?
What mouse are you using? Button remapping is available in Microsoft and Logitech utilities. Also, there are freeware mouse utilities such as this.
http://www.highrez.co.uk/downloads/XMou ... ontrol.htm

danielrod
Member
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: 2003 Apr 03, 13:32

Post by danielrod » 2009 Mar 05, 06:01

i use the 3M vertical mouse.  but i'm going to pass on remapping my mouse buttons.

incidentally, my friend is using 1.7.1.2, and reports that she can still m-click in the pane (works even when m-clicking on filenames) to open new tabs.  

like me, she loves this feature and has vowed to never upgrade! :)

Perhaps xplorer2 can add mouse support to Customize > Keyboard...?

Thanks,

daniel

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15013
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by nikos » 2009 Mar 05, 07:13

middle click to open tabs is an option from the GUI registry settings editor

danielrod
Member
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: 2003 Apr 03, 13:32

Post by danielrod » 2009 Mar 05, 07:31

Thanks for the tip.

In the Settings Editor I was able to find:

"Middle mouse button doesn't close tab (or double-click)"

I couldn't find any option for allowing middle mouse button to OPEN tab.  Am I missing something?

Thanks,

Daniel

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15013
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by nikos » 2009 Mar 05, 07:34

so i must have turned the middle mouse button to open off? i can't recall

desslok
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 167
Joined: 2008 Jan 16, 22:10

Post by desslok » 2009 Mar 05, 07:41

danielrod wrote:but i'm going to pass on remapping my mouse buttons.
Why the aversion? In X-Mouse Button Control, for example, you can specify what the middle button does in xplorer. It doesn't affect the middle button's funtionality in other programs.

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15013
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by nikos » 2009 Mar 05, 08:01

as all things like this, people must have harassed me into turning it off, it's not something i use personally...

danielrod
Member
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: 2003 Apr 03, 13:32

Post by danielrod » 2009 Mar 05, 08:44

Thanks for the tip, desslok.  I gave X-Mouse a try.  Seems to do the job :)  Has the strange side effect of also initializing my Chinese Input Method, but I'll figure something out for that.  

BTW, did you use the option, "Simulated Keystrokes [{CTRL} {INS}]" to enable the action?  

Daniel

Post Reply