Feature Request: Flatten the folder I am currently viewing

Discussion & Support for xplorer² professional

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
pschroeter
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 250
Joined: 2007 Jan 27, 00:46

Feature Request: Flatten the folder I am currently viewing

Post by pschroeter » 2009 Jun 13, 21:07

Its seems to me that every time I realize I want to flatten a folder, it is is the one I'm currently viewing. I then have to navigate up one level first, then flatten it. I wish that the Browse flat command wasn't grayed out if I don't have anything selected. I also notice a slightly odd behavior that if I have a file that is not a folder selected the Browse flat command is active, but then opens up an empty scrap pane, it should default to flattening the folder the file is in.

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14482
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by nikos » 2009 Jun 17, 07:56

this is a bit quirky but as the current folder is always highlighted when you go one level up it is quite simple as a workaround: first go up then use file > browse flat

User avatar
vserghi
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 303
Joined: 2002 Mar 19, 08:54
Location: UK

Post by vserghi » 2009 Jun 17, 11:48

You could select all (Ctrl+A), the flatten (Shift+Enter). This would flatten the current folder into a new scrap pane.
Vas

User avatar
pschroeter
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 250
Joined: 2007 Jan 27, 00:46

I'm just trying to save a step

Post by pschroeter » 2009 Jun 17, 19:25

I don't use this feature very often, so I'll remember it exists, go look for it in the menus, and then have a slight moment of frustration when I see it grayed out and can't figure out why it wouldn't be unavailable, and then remember I have to go up one level first.

If I Select All and then flatten, it does not include the documents in the folder I'm currently viewing, it only flattens the folders selected.

Its not a big deal, but I really can't see why Browse Flat ever has to be unavailable, and should default to the folder currently being viewed.

BRX
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 281
Joined: 2002 Feb 08, 12:12

Re: I'm just trying to save a step

Post by BRX » 2009 Jun 18, 10:21

pschroeter wrote: If I Select All and then flatten, it does not include the documents in the folder I'm currently viewing, it only flattens the folders selected.
You can send the remaining (selected) files to the flattened (scrap)pane with Ctrl-S by the way, just so you know.

But it's still a crutch and IMHO easier just to flatten from the parent folder.

profess
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 2003 Oct 06, 11:39

Re: Feature Request: Flatten the folder I am currently viewi

Post by profess » 2015 Nov 05, 06:42

I sometimes want to flatten the current folder, to include all the files (as above requested from OP).

Sometimes I want to flatten the selected folders in a directory, and include any selected files also, to be included in the new scrap pane.

Workarounds? :) is it the order I'm doing it in or am I missing something? :?

Regards to all.
Live life...

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14482
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: Flatten the folder I am currently viewi

Post by nikos » 2015 Nov 05, 08:06

you can put the folders in a scrap pane (not flat, just the folders), then select all of them, press CTRL+O to make it dual pane, then press ALT+ENTER to flatten all of them

Post Reply