Selecting all identically named files with one click?

Discussion & Support for xplorer² professional

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

polarbeer

Selecting all identically named files with one click?

Post by polarbeer »

Hi,

I'm a newbie xplorer2 (Lite) -user, who would like to know if the following can be done with Lite or Professional versions.

I have thousands of photos and videos which are named like this. (Explanations in parenthesis):

Photos:

2011-03-12_13-29-58_P1000240.JPG   (original jpg-file)
2011-03-12_13-29-58_P1000240.JPG.xmp (sidecar file for jpg-file created by digiKam Digital Asset Management (DAM) software, that contains all metadata)
2011-03-12_13-29-58_P1000240.RW2  (same file as jpg, but in Panasonic's RAW format)
2011-03-12_13-29-58_P1000240.RW2.xmp (sidecar file for raw-image)

Videos:

2011-07-13_10-09-36_FSH.m2ts (original AVCHD video file)
2011-07-13_10-09-36_FSH.cpi   (clip info file related to m2ts file)
2011-07-13_10-09-36_FSH.m2ts.xmp (sidecar file for m2ts file)

If I move or copy these media files (jpg, rw2, m2ts) I usually want XMP-sidecars and CPI-files to follow. Is there any functionality in xplorer2 that would help me in managing these files? Ie. if I choose a few media files (CTRL+CLICK) from a folder containing hundreds of files, xplorer2 would automatically select all these "buddy" files for me too! Thus I wouldn't have to CTRL+CLICK those buddy files too, and this would save me a lot of work.

If this can be done with some other program I would be glad to hear that too!

Filters can be probably used to easily hide buddy files when not needed to be displayed?

I'm all ears if you have any other good tips to manage these homogeneously/identically named files that differ by file extension only!

Thanks for your time and help!

-pb
IneedHelp
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by IneedHelp »