blog: backup or transfer your settings

A collection of especially useful xplorer² topics and ideas. New users may find it helpful to look here before searching the other forums for information. >>>>>> Please post new material in the relevant forum. (New stuff posted here will be removed.) Thanks. -fg-

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15186
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by nikos » 2011 Jun 10, 04:51

you can, but make sure that xplorer2 is not running when you import the settings to the new computer

also some settings e.g. bookmarks, may not get transferred properly if the folders don't exist as in the original computer

Ferque6
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2016 Mar 24, 20:59

Re: blog: backup or transfer your settings

Post by Ferque6 » 2016 Mar 24, 21:04

Where is stored the x2settings.reg file when you use Actions > Export settings?

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15186
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: blog: backup or transfer your settings

Post by nikos » 2016 Mar 25, 07:13

normally it goes in the folder you are browsing at the time. Otherwise you can add a pathname when you are prompted for the REG filename, so you control exactly where the file goes

unbob
Member
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 2008 Jun 08, 03:05

Re: blog: backup or transfer your settings

Post by unbob » 2018 Jan 08, 21:28

I'm running v3.5.0.2 Professional x64 on Windows 10 Home v1607. I'm not seeing 'Export settings' under 'Actions'.

Is Actions -> Export settings now obsolete and no longer supported? Is there now some other method for exporting settings?

Any assistance greatly appreciated. Thx, Rob
Image

User avatar
FrizzleFry
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Posts: 1187
Joined: 2005 Oct 16, 19:09

Re: blog: backup or transfer your settings

Post by FrizzleFry » 2018 Jan 08, 22:27

In Tools/Options/Window (tab) there is a check box for plain menus (bottom right) which reduces the commands available in the menus.

unbob
Member
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 2008 Jun 08, 03:05

Re: blog: backup or transfer your settings

Post by unbob » 2018 Jan 08, 23:27

FrizzleFry wrote:
2018 Jan 08, 22:27
In Tools/Options/Window (tab) there is a check box for plain menus (bottom right) which reduces the commands available in the menus.
Thanks for that tip! I would have never seen it!

Gary M. Mugford
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 150
Joined: 2009 Oct 14, 00:54
Location: Brampton ON Canada

Re: blog: backup or transfer your settings

Post by Gary M. Mugford » 2021 Mar 03, 23:59

FizzleFry,

Without your pointing a finger at the Plain Menu checkbox, I would have continued to embalden myself over the missing Actions/Save menu. I have been on a cycle of creating a particular bookmark and a place for it on my customized menu in the v4.5 I've been forced to use in Windows 10 which I am using at gunpoint, and then repeating the process seemingly every few days. WHY this setting exists and WHY this Plain Menu does away with such a critical function is ... well, I need Nikos' help on other issues, so I'll keep my litany of curses to myself. Thank you for saving me making myself a gutter guy publicly.

Late to the game GM.

User avatar
FrizzleFry
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Posts: 1187
Joined: 2005 Oct 16, 19:09

Re: blog: backup or transfer your settings

Post by FrizzleFry » 2021 Mar 07, 22:57

I guess the plain menus is supposed to be like basic/advanced settings in other programs. It seems that it is checked by default in fresh installs so it tends to catch new users (maybe to protect them?) or the occasional veteran cleaning house. I have pointed it out a few times and I think nikos pointed it out to me at one point.

Post Reply