Products and tips

Moderator: Site Mods

profess
Silver Member
Silver Member

Where / How did you learn to program

Post by profess »

Hi Everyone,

I usually post over in the Computers & Internet section with questions that aren't directly related to X2, but thought I would post here so more people will see it.

My Question; Where / How did everyone learn to program?  Did you all learn at College / Uni, Work or Just for fun?  Would be good to give a little info about it also.

I'll start - the various small amount of commands I know are self taught and through reading small articles here and there and LOTS OF trial and error.

Regards to all,

Osei.

[thanks fgagnon for the 'shadowing' idea. at least others will see it this way]
Last edited by profess on 2011 Oct 05, 02:30, edited 1 time in total.
Live life...
fgagnon
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by fgagnon »

And I'll move the thread back there, but leave its 'shadow' behind so more folks encounter it ... after I answer your query for myself:

First  in University,
followed by decades at work, and
then expanded a bit as a hobby while working.
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by nikos »

Thracx
Silver Member
Silver Member

Post by Thracx »

I started programming mainly as a hobby while in High School and early in college - scripting stuff in my quest to customize Windows 98 or automate tasks.  I will label Gaming as the gateway drug, as I grew up on NES and an IBM 80386.

Half way through college, I decided that my comparative advantage was indeed to be a Software Engineer.  However, I'm still pretty sure I learned a lot more fiddling around with gcc and Visual Studio in my spare time than I did through any official academic channel.  And even then, you don't really get good until you start working in the field and I was no different.

I think it's about time for Nikos to post a new About Me article - that page is more than a decade old now!
-Thracx