Help for a newbie

Discussion & Support for xplorer² professional

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

CarlB

Help for a newbie

Post by CarlB »

Hi forum members

I have been using XyPlorer for many years and try to find an alternative because it is now clear that XyPlorer will never come in a 64 bit version.
I have tried several explorers and Xplorer2 seems to be closest to what I want.
I use a setup that looks like the old Win XP explorer, a tree pane to the left and a list pane to the right, maximum working space, so only the menu bar is visible.
I have installed the trial version of Xplorer2 ult. on a Win 7 32 bit pc.
I have a few functions and visible stuff that I hope I can get som help to obtain, or maybe just an answer that it is not possible in Xplorer2.

I use the same settings for all folders, except one, which is my download folder. Here goes all the things I download and stays there until I take time to delete it or move it to the correct folders. Therefore i want different settings for for this folder. According to the online help, this should be possible by using Actions\Folder settings. But how? I only see Save/clear/suspend/default.
I want to change from >Filename< to >date created< in the sorting, and I also want to have files before folders while all the other folders should have folders before files in the list pane. Are these 2 things possible?

I have obtained a very familiar and nice interface, but miss a few adjustments to make it perfect.
1) Is it possible to change the text colour (All text inside the 2 panes)?
2) Is it possible to adjust the vertical space between the folder/file lines so they come further apart?

Thanks in advance.
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Help for a newbie

Post by nikos »

Hi CarlB and welcome to the forum
for sure, coming from a different file manager you won't find a perfect match and you'd need to adapt your use of the program somewhat