xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Discussion & Support for xplorer² professional

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14711
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by nikos » 2020 Oct 07, 10:15

thanks for the testers, here's the final item with a few translations missing -- hoping to get these in for the inevitable 4501 release
for more information see here:
www.zabkat.com/blog/x2v45-updir.htm

use HELP > CHECK FOR UPDATES or visit the website to get your update

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14711
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by nikos » 2020 Oct 07, 10:27

ps. As smartscreen filter still doesn't trust my signature (after 6 months!?) please bypass the stoopid "not downloaded frequently" warnings as explained here viewtopic.php?f=29&t=11849

lnbrantley
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2014 Aug 07, 21:18

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by lnbrantley » 2020 Oct 09, 17:43

Something to be aware of when you have the .. (<UP_DIR>) option turned on in 4.5.0.0:

If the ".." folder is the focused item in the current pane and you execute a command containing $P, $P resolves to the parent of the parent of the current path in the pane, instead of the current path for the pane.

Example:
if D:\a\b\c\t.txt is the focused item, $P resolves to D:\a\b\c
but if ".." is the focused item instead, $P resolves to D:\a

That does sort of make sense, because D:\a\b\c\.. is really D:\a\b and D:\a is its parent.

Also, if your focus is on D:\a\.. then $P returns a GUID string.

This does not happen with $L, $R, or $I. Those return the current path of the appropriate pane even when ".." is the focused item in the pane. So it seems a bit inconsistent.

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14711
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by nikos » 2020 Oct 10, 06:20

I would say that xplorer2 is being consistent. Some (most) $-tokens depend on the SELECTED item (except for these L/R) so xplorer2 is doing exactly what you've asked for

lnbrantley
Member
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2014 Aug 07, 21:18

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by lnbrantley » 2020 Oct 12, 02:25

In all previous versions, if the left pane is active, $P was the same as $L.
Now it might be different. I think that's inconsistent, maybe not, but it sure can be confusing.

When I send $P as argument to an external executable, I expect it to use the folder in the active pane as it always worked before. Now, if I'm not careful, the external program might use the grandparent of the folder in the active pane.

Not sure what you're getting at by emphasizing "SELECTED"? The same confusing thing can happen if ".." is selected.

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14711
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by nikos » 2020 Oct 12, 04:38

what I meant was that $P and $F and all the rest get their values from whatever is SELECTED, so if you have .. selected then you get its information. Perhaps I should exclude .. from all scripting operations so you don't have to worry about such exceptions

mjbrookes
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 95
Joined: 2007 Sep 19, 11:24

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by mjbrookes » 2020 Oct 17, 11:50

Hi Nikos,

I do not normally have problems with downloading upgrades, but today 2020-10-17

Desktop
[1]
* Check for updates page
https://www.zabkat.com/chkupd.php?v=4.4 ... t=30660465
the Direct Download link ... does not respond

[2]
* you can download it from 'here' ...
https://www.zabkat.com/alldown.htm
xplorer2 professional (64 bit) ... Main download server link ... does not respond

[3]
* > Home > Downloads
https://www.zabkat.com/x2down.htm
... professional windows 64 bit
... downloads ..... xplorer2_setup64.exe but it is only 8390 bytes

run xplorer2_setup64.exe
...... "windows protected your PC"
...... more info
..........Run anyway
............This app can't run on your PC


I have tried multiple times with the above results.


I have now also tried to download the upgrade on my laptop
steps [1] & [2] failed like above
step [3] worked, and downloaded
xplorer2_setup64.exe..... 2888512 bytes
which file did successfully install




Desktop
I copied the file which downloaded from my laptop, to my desktop.
once copied it installed properly.





it appears that some of your website links may not be working (?)



regards
Mark

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14711
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by nikos » 2020 Oct 17, 15:44

which browser are you using? Have you tried using a different one?
also when you tried to run the installer did you see any warnings like these?
www.zabkat.com/blog/smartscreen-bypass.htm

pj
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 413
Joined: 2006 Jan 26, 14:01
Location: Florida

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by pj » 2020 Oct 18, 02:08

Well, looks like I'm not the only one.

The x2down.htm page links worked for me, but all the download links on https://www.zabkat.com/alldown.htm aren't working for me either.

-------------------
PJ in FL

Gandolf
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 355
Joined: 2004 Jun 12, 10:47

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by Gandolf » 2020 Oct 18, 05:07

No problem here (U.K.) with the links on https://www.zabkat.com/alldown.htm. Worked on three different browsers.

mjbrookes
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 95
Joined: 2007 Sep 19, 11:24

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by mjbrookes » 2020 Oct 18, 09:56

Hi Nikos

Thanks for your reply and blog post.

I was using Chrome (in the UK).

I did get the warning "xplorer2_setup64.exe is not commonly downloaded and could harm your computer" once, but I bypassed it. Subsequent download attempts (when the link responded at all) did not trigger the message.


I have loaded MS-Edge & Chrome and repeated my tests today 2020-10-18 :-


........................................................................................Chrome........................................Edge
Desktop
[1]
* Check for updates page
https://www.zabkat.com/chkupd.php?v=4.4 ...............................no download link today.......................no download link today
the Direct Download link .......................................................assumed as I upgraded yesterday...........assumed as I upgraded yesterday


[2]

https://www.zabkat.com/alldown.htm
xplorer2 professional (64 bit) ... Main download server link...............Link does not respond.....................Downloads 2888512bytes
.......................................................................................most other links also fail.................some other links tested-OK


[3]
* > Home > Downloads
https://www.zabkat.com/x2down.htm
... professional windows 64 bit
... downloads ...................................................................xplorer2_setup64.exe......................Downloads OK 2888512bytes
....................................................................................but it is only 8390 bytes


I have not tried to re-install any of todays downloads, as I upgraded yesterday.


Results
~~~~~~~
It seems (Today) that the problem is only present in Chrome; which suggests to me that the problem may be with Chrome itself or my Chrome-settings, instead of with the website links as I suggested might be the problem yesterday.


I guess the only problem remaining for you is if there are potential customers who experience the same difficulty as "PJ" and I, and who then get put off from buying. OTOH https://www.zabkat.com/x2down.htm does seem to work for everyone who has responded, so perhaps it is not a big problem.

Thanks for your attention
Regards
Mark

User avatar
nikos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14711
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by nikos » 2020 Oct 18, 11:14

I am sure the problem is real, but I cannot understand why it happens... what is your IP address? You can send it to me as PM. I wonder if you got blocked by the anti-DDOS measures I took

do any of you people that have problems have IP addresses matching these? (the first few digits)

45.81.139.xx
62.210.xx.xx
88.198.10
91.188.245
94.130.143
95.217.113
163.172.55
178.63.61
185.9.186
194.32.239
195.154.84
213.111.
49.12.
36.243.81

these match the @diots that bombard me with download requests :mad:

mjbrookes
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
Posts: 95
Joined: 2007 Sep 19, 11:24

Re: xplorer2 v4.5 final released

Post by mjbrookes » 2020 Oct 18, 12:10

I have PMd you my IP address.

it does not seem to be part of your list.

sorry to hear about the @diots :-(

Post Reply